Core ID 20 voice knob not working

Discussion - ID:Core amplifiers.
Post Reply
Bob-I
Posts: 4
Joined: Thu Oct 31, 2019 10:22 pm

Mon Nov 04, 2019 6:52 pm

Hi Blackstar folks, Bob-I new member here.

I have a Core ID 20 that I’ve used as a practice amp for years. Last week at practice the voice knob stopped working, no change in voice and no lights changing. I connected to a laptop and through the Insider app everything works correctly. I plugged in a 1/4” jack and shorted the end, it changes voices. I reset to factory defaults, upgraded the firmware and no change.

Other than a hardware failure, is there anything else that I can try to resolve this? I’d hate to just throw this amp out, it’s really handy and sounds petty good.

Thx in advance for your thoughts

Bob-I
Posts: 4
Joined: Thu Oct 31, 2019 10:22 pm

Wed Nov 06, 2019 4:53 pm

Well, since we’re up to 110 reads and no reply’s, I have to assume the amp is simply broken. Maybe I can use a footswitch.

So that brings up another question, what footswitch will allow me to select between the voices?

User avatar
fender62
Posts: 27
Joined: Fri Mar 01, 2019 7:22 pm
Location: wales u.k

Wed Nov 06, 2019 7:50 pm

you could use the insider software make a patch, save it then use an fs-12 footswitch, its possible there's a dry solder joint making a bad contact, you could take the amp apart and resolder that pot.

Bob-I
Posts: 4
Joined: Thu Oct 31, 2019 10:22 pm

Wed Nov 06, 2019 10:20 pm

Thx Fender62...but I checked on the FS-12, it’s $100 :shock: the FS-11 is only $30 and appears like it would work as well.

Thoughts?

User avatar
fender62
Posts: 27
Joined: Fri Mar 01, 2019 7:22 pm
Location: wales u.k

Thu Nov 07, 2019 2:47 pm

have a look on ebay for a used one, or gumtree or whatever your local used rag or website is.

Bob-I
Posts: 4
Joined: Thu Oct 31, 2019 10:22 pm

Thu Nov 07, 2019 4:43 pm

Last night I tried a simple 2 button footswitch I have, it works. I setup patches in insider, set to alternate mode on the footswitch and it all seems good.

As for dry/cold solder joints. I inspected visually and can’t see any. When I get time I’ll reflow the joints and see if that makes a difference.

Post Reply
  • Information
  • Who is online

    Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 4 guests