TVP Problem - Valve models randomly switch.

Discussion - ID:Series amplifiers.
Post Reply
crimsonfire
Posts: 9
Joined: Sun Jun 09, 2013 11:09 am

Sun Mar 05, 2017 11:33 pm

I've been having this problem for a while now, I just wanted to see if anyone else has encountered this issue, and if there is a solution. A guy on youtube posted the exact problem that I am experiencing. I've got an ID260, his is an ID60. When I got my amp a while back, everything was fine, but after a few frimware updates, this problem started to show.

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=my8UF5QIjZI

bclarke675
Posts: 16
Joined: Thu Jun 20, 2013 8:37 pm

Sat Oct 13, 2018 9:16 pm

Your reference video no longer exists. However, I am not having the issue. Is there a way you could use Deoxit spray on the controls, with the amp off, work the controls and that may fix the issue, if it is due to dirty switches. Just a suggestion. :idea:

Fretsmith
Posts: 1
Joined: Tue Dec 18, 2018 2:08 am

Wed Dec 19, 2018 5:30 pm

Hi. Having exact same problem with TVP valve models moving about on their own and cutting out all sound in the process. Having researched this issue its clear it is NOT an uncommon problem as Ive seen it surface in forums several times. Have not, however, heard an explanation or remedy. Talked to a Blackstar authorized warranty tech and he did not seem to have any insight and furthermore didn't seem too eager to get my business...?...(maybe they are not a joy to work on?). The random and unpredictable nature of the problem means I certainly cant play out with it. I also have an issue where the sound will suddenly go {significantly) dim and (usually) come back after 10 sec or so. This issue is also mentioned in forums but, again, never addressed. Excepting these severe issues the id260tvp is an amazing amp...right now its just an amazing 80lb paperweight. If anyone has ANY insight on these issues please share. Ive had the amp 31 months...so as best as Ive been able to figure out...it is NOT under warranty. Help!?

Pendragon05
Posts: 1
Joined: Sun Apr 21, 2019 11:26 pm

Wed Aug 28, 2019 12:44 pm

My ID15 does the same thing. It will flick between valves on the switch, which is accompanied by a cut in sound. Very annoying to say the least. It has been doing it for some time, and possibly is getting worse.

Could be imagining things but I have noticed in the software it is sometimes ‘reluctant’ to select different valves at times. Is it a hardware or software issue?

Obviously a number of people are experiencing this problem. Similar to Fretsmith, I’d be really interested to know if anyone has successfully resolved the issue, either themselves or via professional repair? And was it expensive? To fix or move on, that is starting to be the question...

Thanks in advance.

Sdblackouts
Posts: 8
Joined: Sat Oct 03, 2015 12:27 am

Wed Oct 16, 2019 7:11 pm

Well I got a good one.. I have a id core beam and it randomly cuts the volume off and the amp
Models scroll through like a Christmas light show.. it’s total random. Blackstar said it could be power supply and to change it out. Maybe I will just go katana and not worry about the lack of support and lack of communication with warranty since I just bought 8 months ago. They have not gotten back from their service center and it’s been a week. Blackstar makes good sounding stuff too bad it’s buggy and don’t last.. third blackstar to die on Me.. id30, ht 5 now core beam

Post Reply
  • Information
  • Who is online

    Users browsing this forum: Majestic-12 [Bot] and 4 guests