Footswitch mod ID:Core 10

Discussion - ID:Series amplifiers.
vitalitask+1960
Posts: 9
Joined: Thu Mar 05, 2015 10:17 am

Thu Mar 05, 2015 10:59 am

When I am open ID Core 10 - See the photo https://lh4.googleusercontent.com/-oDbm ... Core10.jpg -
on PCB is free positions for cable. I think, it is for footswitch, which is standard for ID Core 20 and 40.
Can anybody help me, and take photo PCB ID Core 20 orr 40, how it is wiring from jack to PCB? I will try to connect the same on my ID Core 10.
Thank You. (sorry for my English)
Last edited by vitalitask+1960 on Mon Jan 25, 2016 11:00 pm, edited 1 time in total.

User avatar
DavidGilnot
Posts: 23
Joined: Fri May 23, 2014 1:15 pm

Thu Jan 14, 2016 1:27 pm

Hi there. Did you ever get anywhere with this? It seems like a valid mod and one that I'd like to do too, now that my amp's out of warranty. In fact I've got a number of mods I'd like to do to mine, from porting it to opening the back or sides, to adding tone controls, to eliminating that bloody hiss, to covering it in Tolex and giving it nice metal corners. I could love it yet!

vitalitask+1960
Posts: 9
Joined: Thu Mar 05, 2015 10:17 am

Mon Jan 25, 2016 4:11 pm

Yes. It is possible transform ID core 10 for external footswitch like ID20 and 40. You need Two On-OFF switches ( not momentary) and Stereo jack. Insider do not recognise external footswitch, but everything is function. You can switch between Chanel 2 (clean bright ) a channel 5 ( OD 1) and switch on-off modulation effect.
How edit footswitch ID10?
Now I am also owner ID Core 20. For Insider I use Win 7/64 and Notebook. For the first connect ID core 20 - USB to notebook. Now Insider is ready for fully editing external footswitch. Do not disconnect ID20 from notebook and thru another USB port connect ID10. Now is time Disconet ID20 from notebook and edit on ID10 what you need for footswitch. Generally I am change switching between chanel 2 and 6.

I hope it help you. ;)

User avatar
DavidGilnot
Posts: 23
Joined: Fri May 23, 2014 1:15 pm

Mon Jan 25, 2016 8:00 pm

:P This is brilliant news. Thanks. How did you create the socket on the ID Core 10 and where did you connect to inside?

Once the switch is built and plugged in are you saying that one switch switches on clean bright and the other switches on OD1?

You then say that modulation can be switched on. How?

Once Insider is working I suppose the two switches now become any two presets that you want? Or do they cycle through all 5 channels?

vitalitask+1960
Posts: 9
Joined: Thu Mar 05, 2015 10:17 am

Mon Jan 25, 2016 8:20 pm

ID 10 mod inside.JPG
ID10 mod inside
ID 10 mod inside.JPG (149.24 KiB) Viewed 17699 times
some photo
Attachments
ID 10 outside.JPG
ID10 mod outside
ID 10 outside.JPG (121.46 KiB) Viewed 17699 times

vitalitask+1960
Posts: 9
Joined: Thu Mar 05, 2015 10:17 am

Mon Jan 25, 2016 9:04 pm

From manual p. 13:
Footcontroller (ID:CORE STEREO 20 and ID:CORE STEREO 40 only)
Connect a Blackstar FS-11 footcontroller (not supplied) to control your ID:Core in one of the following modes:
FS-11
Switch 1
Switch 2
Default Mode
Toggles between 2 patches, selectable via INSIDER
Toggles all saved patch effects on/off
Alternative Mode
Patch down
Patch up
In Alternative Mode (selected via INSIDER) patches will cycle on a ʻloopʼ.
e.g switching up from OD2 will move to Clean Warm.
When in Manual Mode, the effect of any footcontroller switch will depend on its last state. Pressing Switch 1 will return the amplifier to Patch Mode. Pressing Switch 2 will toggle the effects off and on without returning to Patch Mode.

vitalitask+1960
Posts: 9
Joined: Thu Mar 05, 2015 10:17 am

Mon Jan 25, 2016 9:11 pm

image2a.jpg
How to connect footswitch original ID20
image2a.jpg (138.6 KiB) Viewed 17691 times
image1a.jpg
original ID20
image1a.jpg (216.1 KiB) Viewed 17691 times

User avatar
DavidGilnot
Posts: 23
Joined: Fri May 23, 2014 1:15 pm

Mon Jan 25, 2016 9:22 pm

Thanks again. I'll report back when I go for this. You are a fine gentleman.

BlackStarAddict
Posts: 16
Joined: Thu Oct 01, 2015 5:56 am
Location: United States

Tue Jan 26, 2016 1:54 am

Wow. I would love a foot switch on my ID Core 10.
DavidGilnot wrote:Hi there. Did you ever get anywhere with this? It seems like a valid mod and one that I'd like to do too, now that my amp's out of warranty. In fact I've got a number of mods I'd like to do to mine, from porting it to opening the back or sides, to adding tone controls, to eliminating that bloody hiss, to covering it in Tolex and giving it nice metal corners. I could love it yet!
Tone controls on an id core! That would be great!

I was disappointed when the ID Core 40 watt head came out they did not include the 20 or 10. If mods like this are relatively easy to do, I might convert my ID Core 10 to a head.

User avatar
DavidGilnot
Posts: 23
Joined: Fri May 23, 2014 1:15 pm

Tue Jan 26, 2016 10:44 am

BlackStarAddict wrote:Wow. I would love a foot switch on my ID Core 10.
Tone controls on an id core! That would be great!

I was disappointed when the ID Core 40 watt head came out they did not include the 20 or 10. If mods like this are relatively easy to do, I might convert my ID Core 10 to a head.
I know, that ISF control really is something of nothing isn't it? Like adding a bit more water to a too strong cup of tea. I can't understand what Blackstar thought they were supplying us with there. A simple tone control would have sufficed or, if you're modding, why not add a stacked one in the same hole?

Converting the 10 to a head ought to be a simple job with a bit of electronics knowledge. Inside, the amp is just an empty box containing the speakers. Everything else is attached to the plastic top plate.

Post Reply
  • Information
  • Who is online

    Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 8 guests