Emulated line out

Discussion - HT Venue amplifiers. Inspiration from Studio to Stage.
Post Reply
DreamTheater
Posts: 20
Joined: Thu Dec 03, 2015 11:08 pm

Wed May 11, 2016 8:26 am

I've got a simple "All in One type PC". It does not have a "line in jack". It does have a "mic in" jack.
I have Audacity loaded on the machine. What is the Best way to connect the HT 40s line out to the pc?

Enlive
Posts: 129
Joined: Tue Apr 08, 2014 6:16 pm
Contact:

Thu May 12, 2016 4:48 pm

Just plug into the mic in. It would be best to purchase a used interface for cheap but mic in will do the job.

User avatar
thephantum
Posts: 1160
Joined: Wed Jan 29, 2014 7:42 pm
Location: Virginia, United States

Fri May 13, 2016 7:01 pm

What he said. The mic in on the PC should work but there is a huge difference between it and an actual audio interface. The biggest difference is in the preamps. Most PC's have what are called "consumer level" preamps. That's a fancy way of saying "craptacular" preamps, which is another way of saying you will hear noise in your recordings. Even your lowest end audio interface will have a better preamp...it might only be marginally better, but that still means better quality and less noise in your recordings.

Post Reply
  • Information
  • Who is online

    Users browsing this forum: Majestic-12 [Bot] and 14 guests