S1-45 Bias PR1

THE NEW #1. Series One Amplifiers.
ehalvorsen

Tue Jan 24, 2017 9:27 pm

Hi
I just bought a used Series One 45 (2010-model), which had bad tubes.
I am installing 2x new Mesa EL34 and all new preamp tubes.

What is the correct bias voltage in mV measured on CON1?

PR1 on the largest board seems to be the right pot for bias.
But on the preamp-board there is another PR1 pot. Is this the balance?

Can someone mail me the servicemanual?
espen.halvorsen@hotmail.com

I am an electrical engineer, and I want to do this myself.

GibBFG

Wed Jan 25, 2017 1:59 am

I am looking to do mine as well and was wondering the same. Please let me know how you make out.Good luck!

ehalvorsen

Thu Jan 26, 2017 8:28 pm

The recommended voltage which I got from Blackstar today is:

CON1: 50mV
Adjust with PR1 on the powersupplyboard.

The PR1 on the preampboard shall be just in the middle IF your new tubes are matched. Otherwise, adjust until hum is gone.

The Mesa EL34 sound amazing by the way :)

/Espen

thephantum

Thu Jan 26, 2017 11:56 pm

Keep in mind that 50 mA would be the theoretical, per tube, bias current based on a 350V plate voltage. You're actual plate voltage is not going to be exactly 350V. Depending on the tubes, the voltage will vary by +/-5%...that's a 35V end to end swing, which brings the swing in bias number between 47 mA - 53 mA. So 50 mA is the median and in the ballpark, but it's not precise.

Since that's also a per tube number, CON1 is most likely only giving you one side of the pair. Since you are reading it in mV, there is at least one resistor in there (Ohms Law), so it could be giving you half of the total as well.