Problem connecting a series one 100 6l6 to a series one 2x12 cabinet

THE NEW #1. Series One Amplifiers.
ab2021

Mon Mar 05, 2012 4:34 pm

Hello there, I just received my series one 100 6l6 and a series one 2x12 cab today and I think I have broke it already. This is actually my first tube amp and I am a complete noob. First of all I set the impedance switch on the back of the head to 16ohms then connected the head to the cabinet using one lead going into the left side connection which is 16ohms too. I turned the amp on for about 20 seconds and the tubes inside started to glow and making a noise like they were heating up. Then all of a sudden, the power light turned off and the amp shut down. Now It wont even turn on no matter what I do. I probably connected it up wrong and blew a fuse? If anyone knows what I should do now or has experienced a problem like this before, please tell me what I should do next.

ab2021

Mon Mar 05, 2012 4:44 pm

I just checked and it appears I have blown the mains fuse. Does anyone know where I can get another one? and also how I can stop this from happening again. Thanks

Distortion Dave

Mon Mar 05, 2012 5:33 pm

Did you even take the amp out of standby mode before it blew? Normally you would let the valves warm up before removing from standby. Not sure if that's a reason it would blow a fuse though. Most 2x12 cabs are 8ohms i think, its just a case of matching your amp to what your cab requires.

Distortion Dave

Mon Mar 05, 2012 5:34 pm

Also look on the fuse at what its rated and do a search around online for replacement

leatherskin

Tue Mar 06, 2012 3:02 pm