Just got an HT 40 and a little trick!

General Discussion Forum - Voice The Sound In Your Head
Tennisplayer
Posts: 2
Joined: Fri Apr 29, 2011 12:00 am

Sat Apr 30, 2011 12:00 am

Love this amp. I put my MXR 10 Band EQ in the loop, boost the bass and mids a touch and it is now a fire breathing monster. An eq in the loop adds so much more girth. Try it.

Image

Tawlks
Posts: 12
Joined: Tue May 03, 2011 12:00 am

Tue May 03, 2011 1:30 am

Tennisplayer wrote:Love this amp. I put my MXR 10 Band EQ in the loop, boost the bass and mids a touch and it is now a fire breathing monster. An eq in the loop adds so much more girth. Try it.

Image
Congratulations on your new amp! HNAD!

Killer trick, it's quite an old one, but I'm glad you're employing it as it's worked wonders for so many artists.

That 'Paul looks killer by the way.

kaipartai
Posts: 66
Joined: Sat Apr 16, 2011 12:00 am

Tue Jun 07, 2011 12:57 am

I couldn't afford an MXR, but I have a Boss ge-7 in the loop on my HT60 to cut out some harshness, that works fine. have the pedal set to zero, except the highs of course, but I think I ought to be able to get more out of the eq-pedal, haven't had an effects loop in an amp before, and only used an eq-pedal in front of an amp as a boost. Anybody with any settings- tone tips?

sizzlingbadger
Posts: 100
Joined: Wed Oct 13, 2010 12:00 am
Location: New Zealand

Tue Jun 07, 2011 2:00 am

I have the MXR 6 band in my HT-40 loop - works wonders Image

kaipartai
Posts: 66
Joined: Sat Apr 16, 2011 12:00 am

Tue Jun 07, 2011 2:14 am

Yeah, mine works wonder for the tone, but even though I keep the volume down, the mids are now somewhat sharp and "gainy". Seems odd to pull out the mids too, and even more so to lower the level on the pedal below zero! I'm not after a scooped tone, never works with the full band, and I don't play metall, more kind of hard rock. Ijust want a sound or tone that's big and kind of soft. I will try to have the eq-pedal in front of the amp, but I don't want or need to push the front end more, maybe it's the loop that brings out the harshness?

sizzlingbadger
Posts: 100
Joined: Wed Oct 13, 2010 12:00 am
Location: New Zealand

Tue Jun 07, 2011 2:19 am

I found the original Sovtek pre-amp tubes to be harsh. I now run a Tung Sol 12AX7 in V1 and a JAN Philips 5751 in V2.

kaipartai
Posts: 66
Joined: Sat Apr 16, 2011 12:00 am

Tue Jun 07, 2011 2:28 am

Yeah, I think I'll have to change the tubes, at least the preamp tubes.

kaipartai
Posts: 66
Joined: Sat Apr 16, 2011 12:00 am

Tue Jun 07, 2011 3:46 pm

Hahaha, what a fool I am, been playing the electric guitar for so many years, still it took me so long to realise the problem! I had adjusted the pups as it says on the Fender site, but the bridge pup needed to be lowered, and yes, problem solved! And it seems I've found the sweet-spot in this amp, what a monster!

mbsurfer
Posts: 2
Joined: Sat Jun 25, 2011 12:00 am
Location: Myrtle Beach, South Carolina

Sat Jun 25, 2011 11:50 pm

I actually like the tone I'm getting with my HT-40 when I run a BBE 462 Sonic Maximizer in the effects loop. It really tightens up my sound.

jonS1200guy
Posts: 14
Joined: Mon Apr 25, 2011 12:00 am
Location: Evansville, IN

Sun Jul 03, 2011 3:34 am

mbsurfer wrote:I actually like the tone I'm getting with my HT-40 when I run a BBE 462 Sonic Maximizer in the effects loop. It really tightens up my sound.


i run a bbe sonic stomp through the fx loop on my series one. it's badass! :twisted:

Post Reply
  • Information
  • Who is online

    Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 17 guests